Constitution of 1971 delegates majority of power to president, who dominates two-chamber legislature–lower People’s Assembly and upper Consultative Council, created in 1978 from the old Central Committee of the Arab Socialist Union–and judiciary, although each constitutionally independent.
President possesses virtually unrestricted power to appoint and dismiss officials, including vice president or vice-presidents, prime minister and members of Council of Ministers, military officers, and governors of the twenty-six administrative subdivisions known as governorates
President Husni Mubarak (1981- ), former military officer, as were his predecessors: Gamal Abdul Nasser (1954-70) and Anwar as Sadat (1970-81),President Abdel Fatah El Sisi (2014 till now) former military officer.
Nasser was leader and Sadat member of Free Officers’ group that overthrew monarchy in 1952 Revolution. President dominated National Democratic Party formed in 1977.
Opposition composed of number of secular and religious parties in legislature, of which Muslim Brotherhood was the chief, and some nonparliamentary Islamic extremist groups
International Organizations
Member of United Nations and its specialized agencies; Organization of African Unity; and Nonaligned Movement. Founding member of League of Arab States (Arab League), headquartered in Cairo until after Egypt signed peace treaty with Israel in March 1979. Arab League expelled Egypt and moved headquarters out of country.
In 1990 ab League headquarters scheduled to return to Cairo